Tags

, , ,

Studies conducted on the underground has shown that 4 in 5 women have to stand on public transport on their journey.It’s amazing how when everyone sees a pregnant lady, they look away to avoid eye contact and then wriggle in their seats to get comfortable, as if to remind themselves that giving up their seat is too much, even though literally two people desperately hoping for a seat stand before them.

No seats for those with bumps

No seats for those with bumps

Most surprisingly, it’s the women who notice and give up their seats. Why? Where have all the so-called men gone? Forget being chivalrous, I’m talking about basic manners and courtesy. Has society come to a stage where no one is willing to do anything for each other anymore? Even if it’s as simple as giving up a seat, or offering to carry ones luggage up the stairs on the underground?

I read the Metro and the most interesting part for me is reading the ‘Good Deeds Feed’ section where people text and thank someone either they know, or a complete stranger. It puts a smile on my face knowing that there are still nice people out there. But then I get on the bus or train and see pregnant women and the elderly standing. And in this heat! Has the suns UV rays knocked something out of us? Because no one notices, or they make it appear as if they didn’t notice at all.  But once someone does notice, the lady is about to get off at the next stop or it will take the elderly man too long to sit down, that his stop will soon arrive, which would mean the poor thing would be put under more difficulty.

I read on the train, but I’m able to keep my eyes and ears open. Why can’t everyone else do the same? It’s a shame to see how as time goes by, people are losing basic manners. I probably sound like some pensioner ranting, but I’m young and worried that once I reach a ripe old age and I want to have a seat on a congested train or bus, but I may not get it!

It’s high time we took notice of these things, especially in this heat. And all you pregnant women out there, don’t be embarrassed to ask for a seat. Unfortunately, we don’t have labels as specific as this one (right image) it’s your right.

TFL Baby on Board badge

TFL Baby on Board badge

And another thing ladies, don’t be shy about the getting your free Baby on Board badge at any underground station. I was able to get badges for my pregnant friends without any question from the staff. So make sure you have one. If you won’t speak up, let the badge do all the talking.

