Tags

, ,

Gone are the days where a family all sat down and played games together. I have very fond memories of playing board games with my siblings and this was all when the Sega Megadrive was the only console in our house. We would spend weekdays on board game sand weekends on on the Sega playing Mario and

Why is this? Phones and computers have made us unsocial and unavailable for family time or time for friends.

I recently went with a friend to the V&A Museum of Childhood in Bethnal Green. It brought back so many memories and I felt so nostalgic about the good old days. My all time favourite game board, and my family’s, is LUDO!

LUDO. The hands belong to my brothers

LUDO. The hands belong to my brothers

I’ve only played this board game well, as Snakes & Ladders is more of chance than skill. It’s a game played by most households in Bangladesh and we brought it along with us when we came to England.

Ignoring the animal pictures, there are 4 colours for 4 players. The aim of the game is to eat as many of your opponents counters as you can, whilst trying to get home with all your counters. The game requires a minimum of 2 players, but with 4 players it’s more fun and will last for roughly 1hr or slightly more.

Below is a slideshow of pictures my friend and I took at the Museum of Childhood with the board games and other toys they had on show.

If you don’t have at least one board game at home, I can’t help but question how you spent your childhood! Mine didn’t revolve around board games, but the memories that I have of playing one game with the family gave me memories I’ll always cherish.

Inspired to visit the museum? It’s a great place to take your children to and the great thing is that it’s FREE!

Link: http://www.museumofchildhood.org.uk/home/

V&A Museum of Childhood
Cambridge Heath Road
London E2 9PA
United Kingdom

Switchboard  +44 (0)20 8983 5200
Shop +44 (0)20 8983 5229
Fax +44 (0)20 8983 5225

Open 10.00-17.45 Monday-Sunday (last admission 17.30)

Closed 24, 25 and 26 December and 1 January every year

