Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Wednesday, 24 August 2011

RAMADAN Day 23: I prepared a few things early I the day, and lots of it, thinking that everyone would be home.

But come 5:00pm I hear that 2 of them have left. This meant that I had prepared too much and the possibility of it being wasted would be very high. Also, another issue arose: there was one eater who couldn’t have the main dish I had prepared. So, just when I sat down to do some work, I had to get back up again and start frantically preparing other dishes.

Then dad entered the kitchen. He wanted to prepare 3 things in the space of 1 hour before Iftaar. That meant we almost burnt the grill because he left the gas on, he used a big saucepan and took over most of the cooker when he could have used a smaller one, there was flour, salt, and turmeric powder covering the table top…and the list goes on.

So, we all broke our fast in bad moods.

Tip:  If you are running behind, prepare dishes that don’t take up too much time. Keep things simple.

It’s terrible to be breaking ones fast in such a bad atmosphere. Where’s the togetherness gone? The love? Instead it’s all just bickering and dirty dishes. Subhanallah.

*************************************************************

Ramadan Diaries 2011

Sunday, 28 August 2011

RAMADAN Days 24, 25, 26, 27: I’ve been really busy these past few days so I haven’t been keeping it all up to date.

Day 24: Honestly, I can’t remember! It must have been a good day. I would have remembered it better if it was a bad one. Oh, I remember why it was a good day: we had take-away, Nando’s of course.

Day 25: We had an extra 15 people round for Iftaar, and there are 10 from my family anyway, so the house was packed with 25 people in total! We spent the previous night preparing the food and spent our time right up until Iftaar still cooking away for the big feast. Everyone left early enough. Alhumdulillah, all were happy with the food. But the serious lack of help from the men was not a shock, but as always, a disappointment. They do a little, and to them, they’ve ended world hunger and need a nice long rest. They did do their bit in cleaning the house for the guests, so no complaint there. But when it was closer to Iftaar time, my sister and I were really tired and wanted a bit of help here and there, but they wouldn’t budge!!!

Well, sis and I spent the whole day on our feet, but the reward was that we had cooked so much that there was enough left over for the next day. Meaning we wouldn’t have to cook for Iftaar! Hurrah!

Day 26: You know all the food we had left over from the previous day, which we thought we could serve up? Well, that all went bad! So, we unwillingly had to throw it away. We tried our best to save it, but to no avail. That was the day we went on strike. Yes, that’s right. My sister and I went on strike.

Apart from cooking a very small dish for dad’s sake, who doesn’t eat everything, we didn’t make anything else. Just heated up what we had, brought all the leftover desert from the previous day, and said “Bon appétit”. People weren’t happy, but they ate. I mean, they had no choice right?!

Another one of my woes are the dirty dishes! They just never seem to decrease. All that food going to waste really drove us bonkers, and top it all off, we knew the piles of dishes surrounding the kitchen were left for us and that was really taking the biscuit! The piles were so high, and have been since Day 1 of Ramadan, by Allah, and it feels like I’ll be cleaning dishes till Yawm Al Qiyyama (Day of Judgement)!

We were able to say good-bye to the dishes from Day 25 (although they were all washed, it took time putting them all away), and hello to new dishes of Day 26. “ ‘Weep, ‘weep, ‘weep, ‘weep” (WW).

Day 27: May Allah reward the person who invented speedy noodles. Ameen. We just made loads of fried noodles with some other fry ups (I know, tis all healthy right!) and that was that. It was a step up from the strike, and our cooking is always nice (excuse the arrogance), so, no complaints. Alhumdulillah.

