Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friday 20th July 2012:

 How did it all start. Well, Thursday afternoon we all got the news it would be the first day of Ramadan tomorrow. I was at a friends house when I received a text about it and began panicking straight away. On the way home I was planning meals and trying to remember who has allergies or who hated chickpeas etc etc. I got home and walked in to find everyone smiling and discussing prayer times so it made me think, only for a moment, that maybe I was worrying too much and should smiling like the everybody else.

Then shouted across the kitchen:

Macena! Quickly, come here so we can sort out how much meat I need to cook for tomorrow.’ And that’s when reality came crashing down. Whilst me and mum were planning what to cook, the men were dreaming of what ‘goodies’ we would be making.

We all woke up before dawn for suhur (meal before dawn) and were in bed by 4:00am after prayer was at 3:17am.

Now, the past 2 weeks have been utter chaos at home. We decided to choose this month of all months to redecorate the house. So we had paint and new carets littering the house till Thur. So come Friday morning I woke up to piles of cardboard boxes and had to fight my way to the door through a maze of boxes. I spent the entire morning clearing my room. By 12:00 it looked pretty awesome and I went downstairs to tell mum the good news.

That was when the day began for me. I went down and fed my nephew and nice their lunch. I forget they needed feeding. Everyone else is fasting except them so it still means there’s lunch time. Soon I would have to leave for work so I took a moment to reflect on how the day had gone so far and, surprisingly, it had been quiet. The house was missing a good couple of people so that’s probably why!

Then I went to work and on my way back home leisurely walked past the house on my street and took in all the aromas. It seemed like I was passing my own kitchen window 7 times over. There are many Muslim families on my street so it was no wonder that the fusion of smells from each window blended together and made me think they were all frying meat samosa. But my nose usually makes up smells. There was a time a stink bomb went off in school and I thought it was honey and ginger tea. Enough said!

I walked through the door and before I could wash my hands I was assigned the role of cutting fruit. I cut the boring fruit, apple and pear, and then the exotic ones, mango and honey melon. And of course the dates.

We are of course boycotting Israeli Dates so I hope you all can join the cause and help our Palestinian brothers and sister suffering.

We all set the table together but because of the bloomin flies we had to cover everything!

Curse those flies! I had stand beside the table with a fly swatter. I felt like such a douche :-/

Curse those flies! I had to stand beside the table with a fly swatter for 15mins waving it around. I felt like such a douche :-/

The food covers were bought from Bangladesh, but you can find pretty ones in London too. You just have to look hard 😀

Simple but tasty. We had all together only 2 main 'dishes', but Ramadan is actually all about keeping things simple. Plus, when you're hungry, everything has that extra sweetness to it :-p

Simple but tasty. We had all together only 2 main ‘dishes’, but Ramadan is actually all about keeping things simple. Plus, when you’re hungry, everything has that extra sweetness to it :-p

What did we have for dessert?

Easy Dessert American size Lemon and Maple pancakes. We just had to make the small effort of drizzling the honey over them!

Easy Dessert: American size Lemon and Maple pancakes. We just had to make the small effort of drizzling the honey over them!

It was simple and easy-going. Just how it should be. We’ve started it off well, and not that I’m complaining, but if it keeps going this way I’ll have nothing to blog about!

No sink duty. Job sorted! Bless the one who invented the dishwasher!

No sink duty. Job sorted! Bless the one who invented the dishwasher!

Till tomorrow…

