Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The days have been going like this: we spend the morning cooking for suhur (meal before sunrise) and then from 3:00pm onwards we’re prepping for iftaar.

Today dad went shopping and, as usual, brought home fruit in a not-so-good-condition: blackberries! I spent nearly 2 hrs checking and washing through over 1.5kg of them! I had to stamp out some bugs and watch my fingers go purple as I painstakingly inspected each and every one by hand.

Soon, some good news arrived: we were getting take-away. But not any take-away, we were getting Nando’s! I slowly walked away from the big bowl of remaining blackberries and realised I had some free time to just chill before the food was brought home. Iftaar was sorted! So we all leisurely cut fruit and set the table.

But mum warned the boys before they got the food to not get too much. She knew and I know that no matter how tasty the food is, if it’s not ‘fresh’ then it’s not worth eating to them anymore. But hey, who are we right?! So the men went and brought back 4 whole chicken’s, bags of chips and 4 corn on the cob.

Day 18 The table of chaos: it was 1 mins before it was time to break our fast and the boys had arrived only 5mins before

Day 18 The table of chaos: it was 1 mins before it was time to break our fast and the boys had arrived only 5mins before

My niece's plate

My niece’s plate

Day 18 My iftaar still wrapped

Day 18 My iftaar still wrapped

Day 18 My iftaar - Ratatouille & Chicken breast wrap

Day 18 My iftaar – Ratatouille & Chicken breast wrap

What looks like a burtn naan bread is actually what was left of the take away. A half of a chicken!

What looks like a burnt naan bread is actually what was left of the take away. A half of a chicken!

We had 30 in total. this is just what's left, and what will undoubtedly go to waist

We had 30 pots of peri-peri sauce in total to begin with. This is just what’s left, and what will undoubtedly go to waste

The thing is, I always think ‘Ah, there’ll be less dishes today‘ but that’s never the case. Me and mum still stayed behind and loaded the dishwasher just the same. Meh…

Till tomorrow…

