Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I had work today so I got home by 7:20pm and rolled up my sleeves, ready to get into the last min prep for iftaar. But I see the small ‘cauldron’ out where we fry out food and lots of plastics boxes with fish-fingers, waffles and smiley faces.

Whilst I was upstairs washing up and changing I heard the front door opening so I assumed it was my brother coming back from work. I go downstairs to see an unexpected guest at the table.

This was super awkward because we were having a lazy iftaar today and it juts happens that a guest had to come today. So we were all in a state of emergency as we huddled together in one corner and discussed what alternative things we should serve our guest.

The next thing I see is mum taking out a bag of meat samosas.

Who would have thought that samosas were fancy food for guests?

In our house it is only taken out once in a while, since it takes hours to make and only a few can be made from one samosas pad. I was in a fit of giggles as this was the only ‘alternative’ we have to guest. Other than that, the man ate the same things we did.

Day 19 The feast

Day 19 The feast

Day 19 Dad's iftaar

Day 19 Dad’s iftaar

This is only a small portion of the blackberries I had to sort through yesterday

This is only a small portion of the blackberries I had to sort through yesterday

Day 19 My iftaar - have you ever had a fish finger sandwich. You aint lived till you've tried it!

Day 19 My iftaar – have you ever had a fish finger sandwich. You aint lived till you’ve tried it!

Boy, those magoes went quickly!

Boy, those magoes went quickly!

Till tomorrow…

