Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I started preparing for Ramadan 2 months in advance. How, you ask? By making samosas.

Although it takes hours to sit there and make a bunch out of one pad, they last a long time and can be kept in the freezer and taken out whenever to eat.  I made over 200 samosas, mainly meat, and more than 200 cheese rolls. But lo and behold, come Ramadan, most of them are finished.

Most of them were given away and a few we ate. So although we reaching the end of Ramadan I have to do a count of how many we have left so I can make some more for ‘Eid.

Yup, the making and calculating doesn’t end with Ramadan because we still have to prepare for the celebration party, which is ‘Eid. A day on which any number of people can come and you have to be prepared for it.

Some ‘Eid’s are quiet, and some aren’t, but I have a feeling that this year it’ll be a busy one. It’s the summer holidays and ‘Eid could either fall on a Friday or Saturday so people will most likely have days off from work to come over.

My parents are elderly and in terms of family hierarchy, they are some of the oldest people around. This means people always visit and the house will be filled with faces you haven’t seem since last ‘Eid, or since that wedding you went to all those years ago.

Back to samosa, we have approximately 50 meat samosas left. That’s peanuts! If my family wanted to, the 10 of us could finish that between ourselves. Yesterday I made more rolls and till before ‘Eid I’m officially on samosa duty again and have to make bag and bags by the end of Thu at the latest.

As for today’s iftaar, we had leftovers again:

© 2012 Day 23 The Feast

© 2012 Day 23 The Feast

© 2012 Day 23 My iftaar

© 2012 Day 23 My iftaar

© 2012 My Haleem

© 2012 My Haleem

Till tomorrow…

