Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A week ago we were invited to my brother’s house for iftaar. This meant we were sorted for the day. We cooked a few things for suhur (meal before sunrise) the following day and the rest we could put away.

There was a really stress-free and light atmosphere at home. No one had to worry about what we were having for iftaar or about prepping ingredients in advance. Plus it would be the first time we were going out as an entire family for an iftaar invite. Yes, all 10 of us!

The only people eating in the house were 3 kids so we made pasta and were free to do what we pleased with our time, well, everyone else did; I had to clean up the house before leaving and prepare dessert for the following day (I know, weird as that sounds, it’s still saving me time), and I had to wake up a few people (they were all napping) so that they could get ready.

It was the closing ceremony for the Olympics and we had to plan our route in advance to make sure we didn’t encounter traffic. I had to get ready first as mum said I would be needed most at my brothers to help set up.

We got there at 7:00pm so we had 1hr 1/2 to get things ready. As soon as I stepped through the door I grabbed the nearest chopping board and knife and chopped whatever was thrown at me for salad, daal pakura (lentil pakura), chick-pea baji and biryani.

© 2012 The table

© 2012 The table

‘Full house’ is an understatement. We had a total of 24 people inside and some iftaar time, had to put 10 people in the living room, 6-7 at the actual dining table, 4 people upstairs, and the rest outside in the garden to break our fast.

© 2012 Biryani

© 2012 Biryani. It was a large pot. Afterr serving 24 people we still had lots more left. It felt like we were dishing out biryani from Mary Poppins’ bottomless bag!

I almost forgot to take any pictures at all in all the mayhem of plating up, so I didn’t get any shots of the sea of plates.

© 2012 My iftaar

© 2012 My iftaar

I couldn’t stomach having too much biryani so I put a lot away and was left with samosa, kebab, salad and other things I can’t remember the name of.

© 2012 My nephews iftaar

© 2012 My nephews iftaar

What’s on this plate is how everyone else’s plate looked like. Nice, no?! 🙂

And it happened to be the day before my niece’s birthday so her mum ordered a cake so it was yummy black forest dessert for all.

© 2012 The cake

© 2012 The cake

And a bottle of halal bubbly to go with it:

© 2012 Bubbly red

© 2012 Bubbly red

Till tomorrow…

