Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I woke up already thinking about whether ‘Eid would be on Saturday or Sunday. If it was a Saturday, it would mean, once again, that Ramadan was for 29 days. But if it’s on Sunday, then it’s 30 days, which is rare so it’s something people look forward to.

When I walked into the kitchen I saw bowls upon bowls filled with meat and chicken de-frosting. I asked mum if she was making biryani again and she said it was all preparation for ‘Eid.

But ma, what if ‘Eid is on Sunday? What then?” I said. To which she replied “ I can’t take any chances. There’s so much left to prepare and I can’t bank on ‘Eid being on Sunday. What if it is tomorrow? I can’t run around in the evening. I would rather do it now.

So before I headed off to work I tried to help as much as possible. We took out a whole bag of onions, peeled and chopped them. Then we set aside food for iftaar and food for ‘Eid. So the plan was to cook way in advance, keep the food in the fridge, and take it out Sunday.

Before I left for work I wasn’t sure what we would be having for iftaar as we still had leftover biryani from the day before, but mum had that familiar I’m-stressed scowl on her forehead, so I didn’t ask her anything and left quietly for work. I did wonder a few times of ‘Eid really would be on Saturday and thought about all the crazy prep I would have to do once I got home.

Once I finished work and walked through my front door I didn’t have to ask the obvious question because almost everyone at once declared:

It’s not ‘Eid tomorrow!”

Honestly, I was relieved. It had been a hot day and I was tired and hungry after coming back from work, and I didn’t think I would have the energy even after iftaar to stay up till the early hours and get things ready for the big day. I was happy we would have an extra day to prepare slowly.

After washing up and changing I went down and quickly surveyed the kitchen to see if I what I were thinking were true: there was a big pot in the middle of the table with a lid on so I couldn’t guess what it was, a bowl of fruit and large plastic bowl that had some rice peeking out from under the plate that tried to cover the large mound of rice. Indeed, we were having leftover biryani with something in that large pot.

But the mystery didn’t last for long. My sister was busy chopping fresh ginger, lemon, red onions and chili whilst mum took out small bowls. I realised we were having haleem again.

It was so hectic in the kitchen and dining area that we were still setting up till it was time to break our fast.

© 2012 Haleem

© 2012 Haleem

© 2012 Table

© 2012 Table

When we served the biryani we made sure to mention to all the men that since they wanted so much of it yesterday, they could do the hard work of getting rid of it. They moaned and groaned about how “surely this house is the only house in the world were the men are made to suffer for liking something and used as bins for leftovers“, but had none of it and by the end of the meal there wasn’t once grain of biryani left!

© 2012 My iftaar

© 2012 My iftaar

I had a small amount of everything and even then I was stuffed after 15 mins into the meal.

Whilst we were eating we were discussing what to prepare the next day for ‘Eid. It’s amazing how time has gone by and we were near the finishing line.

© 2012 Fruit bowl

© 2012 Fruit bowl

Till tomorrow…

