Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was early in May that I came out of my final exam and handed in my dissertation at university, but it feels like a year ago that I walked out those revolving doors and saw the rest of my summer ahead of me.

Now I’m standing on the other side and I can’t help but wonder how did summer pass so quickly? After 7 years of serious study I wanted to get back to things I left behind long ago for the sake of education: painting (still learning and practicing) arts & craft, finishing off un-finished writing projects, and generally aiming to read a minimum of 30 books, finish writing my current novella, and seeing more of the London I don’t really know.

Time has gone on whilst I was busy in the library and I feel like I put life on hold when I shouldn’t have.  I made so many plans and the summer started off badly and just as things got better…summer said good bye.

At first, it was about the listlessness of a long summer ahead and how to spend it well. And one symptom of this was not doing anything. That’s right, I was a right bum. I ate, slept, watched films, and didn’t do much of anything on my list. I guess it was because I felt so burned out from university life, I need a long time to heal.

The healing continued for some time before I finally got it together and was able to sort of read a book without feeling like I was forcing myself (after 3 years of studying English, it has that effect on you)…

…started on some art projects…

© 2012 My sad attempt at trying to make a mask. Which stopped there.

© 2012 What mood does this put you in?

…introduced my Asian conservative tribe to new stuff…

© 2012 Banoffee Pie

© 2012 Banoffee Pie was a new thing for my folks. Bless em :-p

…went to funky places and ate some yummy food…

© 2012 ASSA Restaurant walls. Cool right!

© 2012 ASSA Restaurant walls. Cool right!

© 2012 Bi Bim Bap

© 2012 Bi Bim Bap. Here’s an earlier post on my experience of Bi Bim Bap.

© 2012 Introduced a friend to YO Sushi

© 2012 Introduced a friend to YO Sushi

© 2012 Our YO Sushi table. The waiters were stunned with how many bowls we had

© 2012 Our YO Sushi table. The waiters were stunned with how many bowls we had 😀

© 2012 M&M store near Piccadilly Circus

© 2012 M&M store near Piccadilly Circus

© 2012 Discovering more Bubble Tea places. This one's in Camden

© 2012 Discovering more Bubble Tea places. This one’s in Camden

…tried my hand at origami…

© 2012 My sad little boat. I made so many other things but they're too embarrassing to show

© 2012 My sad little boat. I made so many other things but they’re too embarrassing to show

…and the list goes on.

But whilst having all this delayed fun I had to think about *imagine the words echoing and then the sound fading* THE FUTURE THE FUTURE the future…the future……the future………the future…………the future…

So a job came my way from my old college and after a strenuous interview and tests I got the job! YATTA! And it’s not an admin job. Being an Academic Mentor means I’m like a students tutor and the one to come to about personal statements and ‘I’m having bad day’ talk.

© 2012 My work computer has my name on it!!!

© 2012 My work computer has my name on it!!!

So life seems to have some direction again. And it will do for the next year anyway. I planned on doing the Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) in Sep 2013 so this year would have been my gap year. Which means the job will, apart from filling my purse, give me some perspective on teaching. I have one year to see if it’s for me. Sounds like a long enough time right?!

