Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s that time of the year again, actually, it’s that 2nd time of the year again. ‘Eid al Adha is approaching us in 3 weeks and mum has bestowed the oh so honorable duty of making samosas again.

That’s right. I’ll be spending my weekdays working and chillaxing whilst my weekends will be saved for trips to our nearest Asian store and counting off the types of samosas we’ve made.

Why am I banging on about samosas? Because it is the one thing in my house that people would only eat if it’s home-made. Everything else can be shop bought if we run out of time. But God forbid if we actually bought samosas for ‘Eid! But I feel the same way as well :-p I too would rather sit for hours and make hundreds of samosas that have ready-made ones in packets. The taste of home-made far exceeds the ready-made ones.

© 2012 Meat samosa making for Eid al Adha. Those are the samosa pad strips, the meat filling, and the flour ‘glue’ used to keep it all together

This weekend just passed I made only 90 meat samosas. I still have the chicken samosas and rolls, and the cheese rolls. But this year, I’m going to bring back the veggie samosa. In my Ramadan Diaries I never did exaggerate when I said the men in my family are all carnivores and shrink away at the sight of too much vegetable. For years I’ve tried to bring up the ratio of veggie samosas/rolls to that of the meat and chicken, but alas, when mum says that “No one will eat them but us” I tended to accept defeat. Not this year.

I’m bringing it back!!!!

But whilst my role is to be exploited on the weekends, mum’s role is to find out who exactly are going on Hajj (pilgrimage) this year, and this is mainly for three reasons: (a) to know who will be in the country for ‘Eid (b) to try to see if they have enough luggage space to bring back goodies from Saudi Arabia (c) and to wish them well and to ask for forgiveness in advance.

Forgiveness is such an important aspect in Islam. Not just between a believer and Allah, but between humans. The idea is that if someone is going on hajj then there may be a chance that if they die whilst there, they will take all their grudges with them. Meaning, if someone hasn’t forgiven you in this life, then come the next life, you’re not likely to be forgiven. That’s why in Islam the violation of any person’s rights in this life, can only be forgiven by the person who has been wronged.

It’s quite cool and scary at the same time. It means that regardless of age/sex/status/religion (yup, you cannot wrong someone from another faith/non-faith and get away with it. We are all human!), and you have the right to demand compensation for your rights taken.

But no need to worry, my family aren’t really violating my rights so I won’t hold any grudges. But boy do they owe me an ‘Eid gift!!!

