Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Since heroes don’t really exist (It’s o.k if you cry, it took me a long time to get over it too!), we have to make heroes out of ordinary people. And although I’m a hero is training, I can safely say that I can save hearts.

Why only hearts? Well, on Wednesday 14th November 2012 I attended a one day training course for Heart Saving: how to treat a person who has had a cardiac arrest, some one choking, has bloody wounds, and how to administer mouth to mouth and chest compression.

All very serious and it was a long day of training, but I do not exaggerate when I say it was soooooooooooo much fun! It was staff training and I had the choice of doing that or the Heart Training. Obviously, after choosing the latter I had an awesome day with my dummy No Face.

We could name our dummies of course:

The name suits it well no! Al the dummies had the same face and apparently it is actually modeled after someone! You’ll see in a later picture on one of the papers the words ‘Anne Face’. Creepy or what?!

We had fun bonding with the dummies:

Without even taking it out of packaging, one of my colleagues started the chest compression. It was hilarious :-p

And to make it fair, there were even other racial dummies (just by chance. I didn’t know there were such things as black dummies!)

We started off with a presentation by the paramedic leading the training:

Then we started on the practical and had to learn the proper method of mouth to mouth resuscitation and chest compression. We had to be in pairs and when I was timed on how many chest compressions I could do within a minute, I managed to do 150 the first time and 147 the second time, when really it should be 121 compressions in a minute. This meant that I was doing the compressions too fast :-p

Is it a leaf, or a pear? No, its’ a heart! 😀

By the end of the day we were all fairly tired (you would be surprised how much physical activity we had to do and the chest compressions alone made all our hands sore and limp).

In the end we all achieved our certificate and will be training the students at the college sometime before the Christmas holidays.

Apart from the training, the paramedic said something that really touched me: even if we never come across a situation where we have to help someone, we now know that we are one of the ordinary few that have the knowledge to do so.

Often the accelerator of death is a bystander either not doing anything, or doing the wrong thing. It’s important to take any opportunity to learn how to help others wherever possible.

