Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I can safely say that I look back on 2012 with little regret and more satisfaction. The biggest achievement for me is graduating from uni with a good grade and finding a job I really enjoy.

And one thing I learnt from 2012 is how important the beginning of something is. Hence why I have decided to share with everyone my 2013 new years resolutions (NYRs). With resolutions for the new year I believe I am planning and preparing myself for a great year ahead.

NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS:

Qur'an (Source: http://khaledhamid.blogspot.co.uk/2010/12/breaking-news-quran-is-not-as-evil-as.html)

1) Read more of the Qur’an

Each time I have re-read the Qur’an I find something new. Reading it grounds me and reminds me of the bigger things in life.

2) Read more books on Islamic practice and theology

There is still so much I need to learn about Islam and books are a good place to start!

3) Read 52 books by the end of 2013

Why 52? I needed to have a set target of books to read, there are 52 weeks in a year, I put two and two together so reading 52 books is the challenge. It will force me to read and pick up the pace. In a busy life you forget the great pleasures a book can bring; by setting myself this target I hope to bring this pleasure back into my life.

(Source: www.youbookmeallnightlong.wordpress.com)4) Stay committed to the book club

Over Chinese takeaway, a friend and I decided to start-up our own book club. We are to meet on the first Thursday of every month to discuss a book we have put down on the list. The first 6 months are books chose by her, and the rest of the year are books chosen by me.

1. The Hours by Michael Cunningham  2. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess 3. Buddha of Suburbia by Hanif Kureishi  4. War of The Worlds by H.G.Wells 5. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H.Laurence 6. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte 7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 8. Life of Pi by Yann Martel 9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak 10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee 11. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides 12. Dear Nobody by Berlie Doherty.

5) Read the books before watching the film adaptations

This will, again, force me to read and help me understand films that are based on books. This is a resolution I made after watching Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix  without reading the book first. Not all films can duplicate the book so rather than be disappointed with the films, I would rather read the original and then move onto the film.

kimi ni todoke wallpaper6) Read completed mangas before watching the animes 

Ouran-High-School-Host-Club-Wallpapers-084What is explained under resolution (5) applies here too. Often the animes are shortened and those who do not read mangas at all

Inu x Boku SS (Source: http://quizoxy.wordpress.com/)think that the story ends there, when in fact there are still many volumes of the manga left.

7) Write more in my journal

I used to write almost everyday in my journal but at some point that stopped © 2013 My journal all together. Just the other day I wrote in it and I went on writing for an hour! It felt like I had met an old friend after a long time and we had so much to catch up on; in many ways a journal does become a friend so I would very much like to keep in touch with it.

It’s important as a writer to have a journal, which is why I started to keep one in the first place. I’m very forgetful so having it is a great way of noting down my ideas and observations.

8) Finish my novella

This is the unfinished novella I submitted for my 3rd year university dissertation. I am in the process of writing the final chapters for the piece so I hope to be done with it by the summer.

9) Make time to learn Arabic  (العربية)

I started learning how to speak and write Arabic in my 2nd year at university so I wasn’t able to give it much time. Although I am busy with work now, I need to give it some attention before I forget everything I’ve learnt over 2 years.

10) Passing my practical driving test  

Small-Car (Source: http://www.old-picture.com/american-history-1900-1930s/Small-Car.htm)This is a huge burden and I need to pass asap to get it out of the way. Driving was fun once upon a time but after some time it felt like studying and wasn’t fun anymore. But I’ve spent time and money on it already so I have to pass :/

11) Remain healthy

This is was a resolution I made 3 years ago and so far I have kept up with it. But recently I have let myself go so I’m once again keeping a closer eye on the scale and trying to find more fun an interesting ways of exercising

12) Discover and learn how to make foreign dishes (including dessert)

© 2013 CookingI’m sure you all know by now that I enjoy eating (^_^) but always eating out to try new things is expensive. As a foodie it has been a life long resolution to learn how to cook the foreign dishes I love and to introduce them into the life and diet of my wonderfully conservative Asian family 😀

13) Improve my sewing and make something for the home or myself

I learnt as a child how to sew and only did it for a little while before giving it up altogether. I have always wanted to make something with my own hands that I can use. Dad has made so many things with his mad sewing skills so I don’t want to put him to shame ^_^

14) Staying in better contact with people I’ve lost touch with

It’s so easy to lose touch with family and friends no matter how close you are. I keep telling myself ‘I’ll send a text tomorrow’ or ‘I’ll call later’ but that rarely happens. This year I will make sure I actually make a list of the people I want to get back in contact with and make the time to do so 😀

15) Watching/reading the news more

World News Today BBCSounds simple enough but it hasn’t been that way for me. Once you become busy you lose track of the wider world around you. Yes this is possible and no it’s not just me; I know many others who are also just as out of touch with everything as I am…(I don’t live my life by others but I’m just putting it out there that it’s not just me!!!)

© 2012 16) Finish a piece of art work

I have a box full of art supplies and many unfinished pieces, so it is high time I complete at least one to  (a) prove to myself I can do it (b) show mum that my paint and canvases aren’t a waste of space

17) Saving money in general (short term: holiday.  long term: ???)

When you have a goal, you are more likely to be consistent in life. This totally applies to saving money. If I’m just saving, but am not really sure where all my savings are going, then at some point I will be tempted to spend some of it. I’ve been planning on visiting the middle-east with my brother at some point; and if this doesn’t work out, so long as I save and not touch a penny of it.

18) Making a piece of jewellery ====\^/====

It’s a lot easier these days to find wholesale resources and to become an entrepreneur. But all I want to do is make something I can proudly look at and say ‘Yeah, I made that’. Rather than pay through the nose for jewellery these days, I can make a few pieces myself and still look great!

**For all my resolutions I will be posting on any updates. Here’s hoping for success**

© 2013 Candle

