Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is only one anecdote out of the ordinary life of my brother’s family:

It was an early afternoon on a cold Sunday and I was busy sewing in my bedroom for nearly 2 hours, so when I went down to the kitchen I had no idea why everyone was in a state of panic.

“Where have you been you mole? There’s so much drama going on and I bet you don’t even know what’s going on!”

My sister looked questioningly at me and the blank look on my face confirmed that I indeed knew nothing about what had happened. She sighed, shook her head and told me the story.

Open Gate (Source: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-tKJIA2k0lUI/TlfTwp-VMYI/AAAAAAAACyU/AGy2trPLhQY/s1600/DSC04578.JPG) In my brother’s house at around 3:00 pm my 2-year-old niece opened the front door (it was shut but not locked) and ran out of the house. When her mother heard the front gate creak and didn’t see her daughter in the living-room, she ran out after her. Following behind was her 17-year-old son who she instructed to run round the block whilst she headed to the main road. My 15-year-old niece saw everyone run out, calling her sister’s name, from her bedroom window so she called her 24-year-old cousin from his bedroom and he ran out of the house and she followed after. She said she left the door wide open and didn’t think about her pink bathrobe and the state of her hair when she left.

The 17-year-old nephew found the criminal near the main road, just as she was about to step off of the footpath and waving happily to cars passing by. He scooped her up and returned to the house. They all eventually found each other and walked back to the house, only to find the front closed.

They were all still in their nightwear, locked out in the cold.

When locked out (Source: http://www.funnyjunk.com/funny_gifs/4249003/When+locked+out+of+your+house/)

So after standing in the cold for 30 mins they finally called my family who then called the council to see how soon someone could go round and open the door. In the mean time my brother got ready and went to pick them up with his car since it was 3 degrees outside and the neighbours were not willing to keep them for the night. The council called back and said they would take 3-4 hours! So half of them stayed back to wait at the neighbours for the locksmith and the other half came in the car.

Just as they came through the door, we got the call that the door had been opened. Which meant that the batch that came had to return home in the car to pack some clothes to stay over at my place:

their boiler broke so they were surviving without hot water or heating for over a week, so it would have been cruel to return them to a cold house.

The End (Source: http://thecultureenthusiast.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/the-end-has-no-end.html)

Their story is a pitiful yet comical one. A story from which we can all learn one very important lesson:

NEVER ALL LEAVE YOUR HOUSE AT ONCE, EVEN IF IT IS FOR YOUR SIBLING. FOR WHAT MAY FOLLOW AFTER, MAY NOT BE WORTH IT… :p

Ever After (Source: http://www.boston.com/lifestyle/family/articles/2010/05/21/as_fairy_tale_endings_go_shrek_forever_after_is_run_of_the_mill/)

