Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I lived to see Ramadan 2013! Happy I’ve made it, but it is only the first day. I can’t get too ahead of myself…I may not even make it through till iftaar (meal at sunset to break fast).

Suhoor (meal before sunrise):

Ate Readybreak porridge with some dried fruit and one piece of chicken leg. Weird combo, I know, but I was forced to eat the chicken by my brother who told me off for not eating enough. In my defense, I ate more porridge than what is recommended in ones daily allowance so I wasn’t doing the whole ‘I’m on a diet’ thing. It’s 18 hours of fasting I’m having to contend with so it would be stupid to eat a paupers portion of food and roam around work and home like a zombie.

At work people were being really friendly and asking about the whole process of fasting. But what was really cute was when they tried to hide their food or turned away to drink water. Even funnier when they only realised after eating/drinking in front of you that you’re fasting and they become super apologetic. It’s sweet people feel that way but I had to reassure them several times that ‘It’s ok if you eat/drink in front of me. I gotta go home and cook with the stuff before I break my fast anyway so no worries‘.

What made things more awkward was wene everyone tried to quietly slip by unnoticed to for lunch. The fasting few remained in the office and spoke about what we ate in the morning and how full of energy we were.

I had some shopping to do after work and by the time I came home the main dishes for iftaar were almost finished and mum didn’t need me in the kitchen. So I watched some telly then crashed in bed for a 1.5 hours sleep before iftaar. I woke up feeling quite refreshed and came down to a table prepared with simple food and lots of fruit.

Iftaar (meal at sunset):

A quiet and humble meal, as it should be.

If you look closely on the plate there are 2 brown dates that are dry and 1 that looks young and juicy; dad likes the dry ones and insists we all have them. Although no one really likes them, to keep him happy we always have a mixture of ‘dad’s dates’ and ‘normal dates’ 😀

The power fruit (dates) are always given plentifully in my house. No less than 2. What you see here may just be kisuri (boiled rice with fenugreek seeds) and chickpeas, but it was appropriate food to feed fasting people

The power fruit (dates) are always given plentifully in my house. No less than 2. What you see here may just be kisuri (boiled rice with fenugreek seeds) and chickpeas, but it was appropriate food to feed fasting people

