Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Suhoor (meal before sunrise):

It was porridge for me again. Rice is too complicated a meal to have so early; the portion of rice and curry is a bit annoying when I don’t know how much curry I’m allowed to have (in case there isn’t enough or it’s left for someone in particular). Plus, I have this thing were if the food isn’t tasty enough or sweet, I won’t feel full and that will bother me for the rest of the day. So my porridge is one that has a hint of syrup in it to give it flavour 😀

Ready Brek golden syrup oats 

It shouldn’t be a surprise as to why this year’s iftaar (meal at sunset) isn’t as interesting anymore because this Ramadan we have less people in the house. 4 to be exact.  So this means we’re more relaxed about what to prepare and just going about iftaar like it were any other meal.

Which is how it should be. Even though people see the Muslims fill their trolleys with ready made samosas, parata, potato, ghee and other junk, Ramadan is meant to be anything but a feast. A humble meal is sufficient.

After Day 1 I thought ‘Yeah this is good. Less people, more quiet, less complaining, healthier food…‘ etc etc. But there was one argument over something I didn’t think would happen. Not with the people present at the table…

2013 © Mango

Mum: Why did you cut apple?

Me: It’s just one apple! How hard is it to eat one apple amongst 4 people?!

Mum: It’s not. But you also cut 3 large mangoes…

Me: So the apple was too much? One apple?

Mum: Everyone went for the mangoes and has no room for anything else

Me: You mean the boring fruit was shunned. So why did you ask me to cut the pear?

Mum: [giggles] I didn’t think this would happen. I saw you cutting the apple and thought adding the pear wouldn’t make a diference

Me: [gives her the look]

In the end I had to finish the apple and pear…

This is what out neighbour gave for iftaar: meat samosa, chicken spring rolls, pakora and chiken tandoor legs :D

This is what out neighbour gave for iftaar: meat samosa, chicken spring rolls, pakora and chiken tandoori legs 😀

We had chicken wrap

We had chicken wrap

And here's the chicken filling, Asian style: all one colour with no personality (I would have liked it if some veg went into making it!)

And here’s the chicken filling, Asian style: all one colour with no personality (I would have liked it if some veg went into making it!)

Dad doesn't like chicken so egg pizza was made. It's like an omelette and is our emergency dish for when we're short of ingredients and food for the fussy :/

Dad doesn’t like chicken so egg pizza was made. It’s like an omelette and is our emergency dish for when we’re short of ingredients and food for the fussy :/

The bowl had dessert. Sweet vermicelli in milk with raisins. Yum!

The bowl had dessert. Sweet vermicelli in milk with raisins. Yum!

2013 © Dates

