Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Suhoor (meal before sunrise):

Because the time is so short between the meals (literally juts over 6 hrs) so it’s difficult to stuff your face with the things you’ve been craving during the day. But I did it. I ate Dairy Milk chocolate ice-cream before suhoor! I, who wouldn’t eat any junk past 8:00 pm ate ice-cream at 2:00 am! 😮

I don’t regret it. No no! It’s just funny how all the rules seem to kinda go out the window during Ramadan. Simply because, and justifiably so, we’re allowed to treat ourselves in this one month where we’re learning self-restraint. During the day at times I have sugar cravings so me finding the last one was only fate 😀 Then of course, I had porridge 🙂

Mum decided to make something new and nice for us to eat for iftaar = time consuming and difficult.

It's made out of flour, water, turmeric and salt. After kneading the mixture into balls, you then make shapes and steam them.

It’s made out of flour, water, turmeric and salt. After kneading the mixture into balls, you then make shapes and steam them.

Once steamed we cut them into smaller, thinner pieces and then fry them up with well done onions and chilli, to make:

2013 © all fried up

And we brought the samosas I spent all those weekends making!

2013 © My iftaar 2

2013 © watermelon

2013 © mangoes

I chose today to pray in my local big mosque: East London Mosque (ELM) in Whitechaple.

It was packed just before prayer and people were literally shoving each other aside for space. Once I finally found space people were walking all over the place we couldn’t get any order. So when prayer finally began I realised that there was no air con (on the hottest day in Britain so far) and that I would be in that room for the next 2 hours! 😮

Although it was nice to actually pray in the mosque, until they fix the A.C, I won’t be going back there anytime soon…

2013 © A face

