Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Suhoor (meal before sunrise):

Because of the big meal we all had at iftaar a few hours before suhoor time no one’s tank was empty enough to welcome more food. So to join the rank of the rebels in the family (those who don’t eat rice) was my brother who also brought out a bowl and had cereal 😮 The shock on my folks faces when he, the one who eats like a horse, said no to rice and sat beside me dig into his bowl of crisp wholemeal cereal flakes and semi-skimmed milk.

2013 © SamosasI know I make it sound like the parents still tell us what to eat and the such (which is i fact true since that’s just how Asians are and because we’re the youngest in the family) but it’s like I explained before; to them the most filling thing in the world in rice – porridge is no contest! Their point is it’s a long fast and you need to eat something heavy to last you at least 2/3 of the day. They don’t believe cereal or noodles are proper food. Give them Tilda Basmati rice any day 🙂

Iftaar (meal at sunset):

My sister-in-law invited us all to her place, which meant we didn’t have to prepare anything at all! The whole day was ours. With all that time mum decided to go shopping and I accompanied her. Who would have thought that once we came back dad would be at the sink pealing potatoes with skin flying everywhere. Turns out, he forgot that we were invited for iftaar and had begun making ‘aloo chot‘ – potato cut into think slices, dipped into a batter made from gram flour (chickpea flour), plain flour, turmeric, salt, chilli and coriander leaves.

We reminded him of the iftaar invite and he’s face fell.

Dad: But I really wanted to have this today!

Mum & Me: But you’ve been invited to eat someplace else. Leave it for tomorrow.

Dad: Well, why can’t I make it and take it over?

Mum:…I guess you could. But you better hurry up because we don’t have long.

Dad: I have plenty of time. I’ll be finished in plenty of time 🙂

4 hours later… 

*He was still frying the potatoes and mum was really losing her patience*

We managed to get out in the end with his bowl of aloo chot:

The 'aloo chot' is in the bowl. It may look like it was worth the effort of making but it's a really easy snack to make and it IS tasty

The ‘aloo chot‘ is in the bowl. It may look like it was worth the effort of making but it’s a really easy snack to make and it IS tasty

From the pictures I’m sure you can tell that there was no way that the words ‘healthy’ and ‘green’ or ‘light’ crossed the hostess’s mind when she prepared the feast. And I’m not really blaming her. It was an invite and she made tasty food that you only get on special occasions. But after 5 days of eating moderately to eating this:

2013 © My iftaar Day 6

…was quite a shock to my stomach :/    And yes, both plates were mine!

The funny thing is, apart from the dates, everything else was fried in oil. Which is what actually scares me about invites; I know I’ll come away with a full, but unhappy stomach. But, believe it: this IS how iftaars in Ramadan are expected to be.

God help us! I’m just happy my household has downsized and are more health conscious than most. Alhumdulillah 🙂

2013 © Setting up

