Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was away for 2 days because I had to babysit for my sister. So on Friday I had to pick up my nieces and nephew from school and take them home whilst their parents where out.

Day 17: I went to the school to get the kids and when I went to get my niece, Humi, and in her surprise at having me pick her up, she said “Why are you here to pick me up? Why are you here?” I tried not to look shocked and laughed it off before turning and walking away as quickly as possible.

Then I set off with the kids and watched them play whilst I prepared dinner for them. I had to make pizza for iftaar and luckily the ready-made role has 2 pizza bases:

2013 © Day 17 Pizza Dough

But unfortunately I overcooked it. A little.

2013 © Day 17 Pizza 1 ii

Later, my sister arrived and I started on the one we were to have for iftaar. This time, it was a success:

2013 © Day 17 Pizza 2

My sister marinated her chicken the night before so all she had to do was fry:

2013 © Day 17 Fried chicken

Then we ate!

It's meant to serve 4 people but because it was just my sister and I eating it, we split it in half! :O

It’s meant to serve 4 people but because it was just my sister and I eating it, we split it in half! :O

Day 18:

I stayed the night and was told when I woke up that we would be having some cousins over for iftaar. So we began brainstorming and we came up with this menu: chicken wrap, fried rice with red bean, chicken fried strips and banoffee pie

I spent most of the afternoon right up until iftaar taking care of dessert. My sister did the rest :p

Chicken for the wrap

Chicken for the wrap

2013 © Day 18 With choco shavings

Kept the individual pots chilling in the fridge

I know, a lot of carbs! But we had men round (and one of them eats enough for two) so balancing out the plate didn't really come into the planning

I know, a lot of carbs! But we had men round (and one of them eats enough for two) so balancing out the plate didn’t really come into the planning

My cousins also brought dessert, which we ended up picking at because we were stuffed

My cousins also brought dessert, which we ended up picking at because we were stuffed

Day 19: This day was spent mostly on the road and in bed. I was finally going home but first I stopped over my brother’s place. I crashed in someone’s bed whilst the all the kids played. I was then woken up and went home.

After 2 days of intense eating I came home to such simplicity and last minute ideas thrown together, it felt extra special to be home again:

There's salted chickpeas, daal (lentil) puri, hash browns, dates and rice pudding with coconut and raisins

There’s salted chickpeas, daal (lentil) puri, hash browns, dates and rice pudding with coconut and raisins

