Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dad’s made many attempts at making home-made plan yogurt and it’s always been a failure. Mum’s had to always give him the I told you look after an attempt gone wrong. But dad persevered and has continued to make it from as far back as I can remember.

He started on Tuesday and let it set in the fridge. Whoever opened the fridge was unfortunately greeted with the smell of something gone off, but it was only dad’s yogurt. Which no one dared to criticise, because dad gets really upset and stroppy when someone criticises him. Yes, dad can be like a teenager at times.

2013 © Dad's yogurt

So today was the day that the yogurt would make its debut. There was tension in the air as mum dished out the yogurt. Dad had it last, waiting for everyone else to try it and see their reaction. And I’m happy to say it was a success (for once) and dad was beaming with pride. It was at that moment I realised how important children’s approval is to a parent, and not always the other way round.

As for the guest, it was my teenage nephew come for iftaar. When he saw the table spread he was surprised at the amount of fruit.

We of course had mango and watermelon so once again there was our 5 a day + extra for iftaar :D

We of course had mango and watermelon so once again there was our 5 a day + extra for iftaar 😀

Mum always gives us fried food. Sometimes we never have a single fruit at the table” he said to me. But I told him “you can’t blame your mum for what’s on the table. She gives you what you want and expect“.

Apart from the addition of the samosas, we had leftovers for iftaar and surprisingly my nephew, who has the appetite of a horse, said he was full after eating a lot of fruit. Ha ha haaaa! Even if it takes me all my life, I will try to convert my family’s Asian way of eating to a healthier way.

2013 © Day 24 My iftaar

