Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My day was ruined because of an eight legged bug I saw dangling from the ceiling near my bedroom window. I tried to get it to climb up its string but it instead fell behind my bed.

In case it isn’t obvious, I have arachnophobia (fear of spiders). So having a 2 inch hairy black one crawling in my bedroom is more than enough to set me off the rails. It was past fajr (sunrise), roughly 3:45 a.m so I wasn’t in the mood to hunt down the thing and get rid of it (plus I was scared of it), so instead I tried to ignore the fact that it was under my bed and could be crawling up anywhere so that I could go to sleep. Although it was hot I wrapped myself from head-to-toe in a quilt and made sure the fan faced me so that it could blow away the enemy if it approached.

2013 © Day 25 cherries

Cherries 🙂

I was of course, kidding myself. I didn’t sleep properly at all! I kept waking up from fear of being attacked and I even had a nightmare about how the spider had a bunch of babies and was leaving them to hatch in my hair :O

This meant that I woke up early and couldn’t go back to sleep, I had a headache due to the lack of sleep which lead to me not being able to concentrate on anything I read or did (except making cheese rolls which doesn’t require too much thought), then I thought a nap would help but I couldn’t sleep in my bedroom because of the spider and this stopped me from sleeping in any bed due to the paranoia of something being under the bed.

So in the end, I had quite a suck-ish day because I was scared of going to bed in the same room as an insect that’s scared of me as much as I am of it. Being on edge all day, jumping at anything that touched me (even my hair brushing my neck), flinching every time I saw something move out of the corner of my eye…I felt like an escaped criminal looking out for the feds! :/

But come iftaar time I was able eat and be merry after a day of distress:

My iftaar

My iftaar

Table spread

Table spread

The big boss fruits

The big boss fruits

Pakura!!!

Pakura!!!

