Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Woke up this morning not sure what was going to happen in the day ahead. There was talk the previous day, as there is talk every year, about which day ‘Eid would fall on: Thursday 8th or Friday 9th. When I did go down I saw meat and chicken being defrosted, vegetables all out. I assumed mum wanted to give food to the neighbours since this could be the last day of Ramadan and we hadn’t given food to everyone on our street. I asked mum if this was the case, to which she replied,

Forget the neighbours! Tomorrow could be ‘Eid and I need to prepare. I’m not doing all this cooking on the day

I then got a call from my sister asking if we could go out to quickly shop for medicine to help clear her congested nose and do a little grocery shopping. So we were out from 1pm and returned home at 5pm. Why so long? We were mainly struck in traffic! The one area we went to was Green Street! One of the most well known Asian streets in London, which, we should have guessed, would be packed on a day that could potentially be the last day of Ramadan.

What was nice to see was how nearly every 30 yards there were stalls with girls applying henna for ‘Eid.

bridal-mehendi-photos-and-pictures-for-hands

When I got home the kitchen Chef Mum and Chef Dad were already present, so I stayed clear of the place till I knew it was safe to enter: I’ve learned over the years that going into a kitchen with people who know how to cooker better than you is a mistake that will only ban you from the kitchen. So I checked my phone and saw a text saying ‘Eid Mubarak for tomorrow. IT’S GOING TO BE ‘EID TOMORROW! I couldn’t believe it! 😀

I know the round-ish brown things look like kebab or steak, but it's fried rice flour with spices. Dad just decided to use RED rice flour, hence the dark colour :)

I know the round-ish brown things look like kebab or steak, but it’s fried rice flour with spices. Dad just decided to use RED rice flour, hence the dark colour 🙂

As soon as I knew it will ‘Eid tomorrow, I couldn’t help but think of all the chocolate and cake I would eat! 😛

This final post marks the end of this years Ramadan Diaries 2013. I thank everyone for reading and I hope it was entertaining, although, this year there was less drama  to report 😀

Till next year folks (In sha Allah)

Eid Al Fitr 2013

