Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes its easy to take them for granted. Almost always, actually. I go to work and take for granted that she’ll be there when I return home. I get in late and I assume she’ll be there to open the door. I haven’t eaten all day and I arrive home thinking mum has already cooked. All these and more I have taken for granted and I haven’t realised it more till Ramadan arrives

At work we have a pond. Last summer we had more ducklings, but this year crows came and ate them 😦 Leaving us only with one duckling and the mum. This mother duck would let her duckling go and explore other corners of the pond, but if it went to far and out of sight, she would follow after but watch from a distance. But the duckling was only interested in getting away. No realising the that it made the mother worry. And it made me think of my own mum. How she, like the mother duck gave me space to explore and see the world, but she always made sure she was nearby.

Day 4: Mother duck and duckling

So yesterday I also had a test for my teacher training. I didn’t tell mum about it and when she found out she became worried and kept telling me to rest and let her know how it goes. Now usually, mum’s too Bangali to show affection/concern, but guys, this is as close as it gets. Verbally. But I felt a bit better about the test and realised how if I had bothered to tell her before, I would have felt better about it too.

Day 4:  chickpea baji

 

Day 4: parata

What like to call 'egg pizza'

What we like to call ‘egg pizza’

Then when I did pass the test she was super happy (her voice went up a few octaves on the phone, and this is her being excited!!!) and I got home to a normal iftaar which seemed extra special. Do you know why? All because mum asked me “Will you eat parata if I made it for you? Or are you happy with the chickpeas?” As normal as this question might sound, to me it was mum showing concern again: I’m considered the health freak in the family so mum sometimes has to think of a separate menu for me. Isn’t she cute!

20140702_210210

I have so much to be grateful for in life. But one overarching blessing above everything else in life is having mum ^_^

To all those who don’t have a mother, I cannot imagine their pain yet. Ramadan has reminded me that there are people who have lost their mothers due to war or poverty. And again the importance of charity cannot be made more clear: we all need to make sure we don’t stop giving after Ramadan has passed, but that it becomes a good habit to keep for the rest of our lives, and if we are able to.

