Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Day 9 - Watermelon Today I slept in late. I didn’t set my alarm to rise early because I knew I needed the rest. Staying up all night isn’t easy, especially if you need the assistance of coffee. I’m a lightweight at this whole staying up culture so I needed to sleep in. But once I did arise I expected to come down to mum zooming about the kitchen in the usual rush that she’s in to get things ready for iftaar. But instead, I descended to peace and a strange quiet I was not really used to. It then hit me: we had been invited the previous day to break our fast at my brother’s house 0_0

 

Day 9 - Grapes

This is bad why?! Yes, its an invite and its free food, but this means I’ll have to contend with the typical Asian Fat Feast that falls in the time of Ramadan like confetti at a wedding. It’s hard enough trying to keep the weight off in a month you would assume one would lose it, considering you’re only eating 2 meals a day. But noooooo, not with our kind. Believe it or nor, I was the lucky was in my family last Ramadan to have only gained 2 Ibs, because everyone else in the family had gained a minimum of half a stone! Gob smacking, isn’t it?!

So I actually fear iftaar invites. Seriously! People don’t take no for an answer in these houses. We are very hospitable people and its something to be proud of. But not during Ramadan when eating small (and healthy) portions of food is like an insult. When you even attempt to put away food you would get things like “Oi, what’s wrong with the pakura?..what?…what do you mean you’re full?…don’t be stupid just eat it…no no no, put that back on your plate right now…well, I’m getting you another one anyway!” I wish I were exaggerating but I’m not. People are actually like this… ¬.¬

These invites are great in the sense that you see people within a month you didn’t expect to; people prefer to stay at home in seclusion to spiritually strengthen themselves, as it should be. BUT these invites are more like savoury assassination meals than the humble gathering you would expect:

No iftaar would be complete without a pile of pakuras

No iftaar would be complete without a pile of pakuras

Along with samosas

Along with samosas

And fried aubergine. I felt kinda sorry for them.

And fried aubergine. I felt kinda sorry for them.

It really was a heart stopping meal, in more ways than one, so I had to secretly put away some food. And also, I noticed the difference between the adults plates and the children’s:

Their portion...

Their portion…

...our portion!

…our portion!

The fruit was treated as second class citizens and that made me sad. So I made sure I ate as much of them as I could, since everyone else avoided the stuff like you would do with broccoli!!!

