Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A few posts back I said how I was working out after iftaar and I briefly mentioned the length and type of workout I do. So I thought I should give some tips and share with you what I do to make sure I don’t let those pakuras get to me!

Full body FAT burning workout: (THIS is what I do every day after iftaar)

This follows a circuit training method of working out. This is: a form of body conditioning or resistance training using high-intensity aerobics. It targets strength building and muscular endurance. An exercise “circuit” is one completion of all prescribed exercises in the program. This also means it has short rest periods in between each move to maximise the fat burning.

***WARNING*** I don’t recommend this to anyone who hasn’t exercised for a long time. Although the video is only 10 mins long, the intensity is high and demanding for someone not used to exercise. I have been working out for months and have done circuit training on a weekly basis. I prefer this workout because of the high intensity the workout provides in a short space of time. However this does have more lower body moves than others, so I like to work on other areas after this workout.

Light Cardio:

This is good because of its low impact. Its a workout that can still make you a little sore the next day. For those who have not exercised in more than 3 months or are beginners to exercise, can benefit from this video. It has some challenging moves, perhaps for elderly people, but one thing you have to remember with any workout, is to go with what YOU can do. There’s no point in pulling a muscle. If you try a move but then find it challenging, just do a modified version of it. E.g. if you can’t do a FULL squat, do a DEMI-squat, only going half way down.

Chair workout:

With this workout it is 30 mins, but that’s because it is a circuit repeated one more time, making it a 2 circuit video. So you CAN only do this workout for the first 15 mins as the second half is a repeat. But of course, if you have the time and want to get a better workout, go for the full video!

Now, people might think this is only for old people, but it is indeed for others too! I used such exercises and a chair as a prop when I strained both the muscles on my thighs and knees whilst working out. So in order to recover and not put too much pressure on my knees, I would do such moves using a chair.

List of who this workout can benefit:

Elderly

Injured and recovering

Those who have had knee surgery or other leg surgeries

Those with back pain or lower body pain e.g. pelvic bone pain, coccyx bone pain etc

Those with arthritis (I know someone who was diagnosed with this at only age 23, so it’s not just the elderly!)

Those who are pregnant (however, there are more suitable videos for specific exercises for those pregnant)

 

I  had a much healthier iftaar to start with:

Corn on the cob (my phone refused to give me a clearer shot)

Corn on the cob (my phone refused to give me a clearer shot)

And then it all went downhill with dad’s Mount Pakura! So later on when I was feeling lazy about doing my workout, I reminded myself of how many pakuras I ate, and the guilt worked!

Day 21 - Mount Pakura

