Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Because I slept in yesterday I got to stay up till suhur. This meant there was no repeat of the first night’s scramble to eat. I got it all set up and went round the rooms to wake everyone up. But even at 2:10 I was alone eating my porridge, waiting.

suhuur 2015

But not all things went well. I got into bed by 3:30ish and woke up before 9am because it felt like my bladder was carrying a baby so I had to pop to the loo. And then I’m wide awake and can’t go back to sleep, but my eyes are sore and want nothing to do with daylight. So I zombie walked downstairs and spent time with the budgies, who were having their morning quarrel:

The Boys 2015

Then I moved onto business and asked mum what should be made for suhur and iftar. So I decided to make Jap Chae (Korean glass noodles)! The recipe to which I blogged ages ago and can be found here.

I had a doctors appointment at 3:20, a very awkward time because I needed to prepare things for iftaar and didn’t want to be stuck in the kitchen at 8pm. So I started mad prepping for Jap Chae and making the lunch before leaving. Then after I returned from the appointment I had plenty of time to myself before I started on iftar. Luckily, this is one of the few dishes I know the family like and it’s not South Asian! A success!!! 😀

Day 2 Iftar RD 2015

I know, I know. The bowl doesn’t make it look glamorous at all. But this what I mixed it all up in for the final stage. Plus, I couldn’t taste the salt till after breaking my fast so I had the soy sauce on stand-by to mix in. Apart from that, what you see above is exactly what we ate. No more, no less. The noodles are really filling but somehow light too. I really enjoy eating this and I like it best cold 🙂

Day 2 RD  2015 iftar

And my need for something sweet really kicked in. I was still by the cooker when we broke our fast because I was making my desert, so mum told me to hold off till the next day as I should have been at the table eating. But my craving was savage, I have to say. Although there are packets of Twix ice-cream bars in the freezer, I was imagine other delights:

Day 2 iftar desert A mish-mash of things but that’s how my cravings are. So we have gluten-free pancakes made out of only bananas and egg. Beside it for contrast are pan seared pineapple chunks. I added coconut yogurt to give it the lovely pina-colada flavour 🙂

Today was once again an easy going day, but I’m going to stay away from dairy as I don’t want a repeat emptying myself to the point where I’m tired and weak at 10am! I also have work tomorrow and I’m not looking forward to it 😦

