Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was so caught up in the madness of lesson planning, I forgot to post yesterday O_O So I’ll rewind a little and fill you in.

I somehow ended up agreeing to teach a full English class, instead of teaching half of it with my mentor as originally planned. I was meant to teach the first half of the lesson however, whilst planning our parts together it was obvious I had too much going on in my section to have to squeeze it into 45 mins. So I then agreed to have the whole lesson and left college early to finish off the planning and create the resources.

But that very day I had a deadline the next day for a uni assignment and needed to finish it off. I spent ages on it and it was midnight just as I submitted it online. Roll on Wed and Thur, I was in and out of seminars and lectures, which left me only Thur afternoon to finish of my power point and resources. I spent 3 hours on 2 slides on iambic pentameter but realised that although it was done step-by-step and detailed, it was too long and complication. That’s when I made the right but painful decision to get rid of those 3 hrs worth of work and simplify my lesson plan.

mtgPzxUI was nervous the entire morning and as I printed out the resources and waited for my lesson. But once inside the class and at the front of the room, I took a deep breath in and began.

After it was all over, I sat with my mentor over lunch and he gave me feedback. Of course, there were areas he spotted I needed to be wary of, however there were enough positives to make me feel like I had still done my job. I did get good feedback from my students who were sweet enough to say they enjoyed the lesson and so the development points didn’t bother me as much 😀

I do realise I was lucky in getting a nice class who are in their final year of study and want to pass their exams and get into uni; they were well behaved and I only had to control a bit of noise level which wasn’t an issue as such, for in fact they were excitedly talking about work (most of the time!), the young sweethearts 🙂

I will now get the opportunity to teach the same lesson to the other A2 Literature class and I now have the weekend to really go over how to improve my teaching and their learning.

Funny incident of the day: 

A student asked for help in the lesson. But what I usually do is answer their questions with further questions. So this is how it went down:

Boy: Miss what is the effect of the conceit meant to be?

Me: Right, so what is the effect on you?

Boy: But-but-but miss, I asked you?!

Me: Yes, but this question was given to you.

Boy: But miss, I’m the student so I asked you.

Me: Yes, and I am the teacher so I’ve asked you.

Boy: But you’re being sly miss and dodging the question. I need you to give me the answer.

Me: [LOL] But I need to see if you’ve been paying attention throughout the lesson. So, let’s start over, shall we?!

This was a little joke we were having and in the end he got the answer. This was all coming from a boy who seemed very quiet and moody when I first taught him. And then to see him open up and ask me for help felt like a breakthrough. Whether it was something he had done or I had done, I was just happy to see progress

tumblr_inline_nula9y3lED1rl35wl_500

