Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mum had cooked some really nice curries and so I had rice after what feels like forever.

Day 7 suhoor

Unfortunately, the curry was spicy and I drank more water than I could cope with, leaving me with a stitch on my side till after sunset :/

Luckily, I worked out before I ate. Yes, I’m back to working out again. I had started back again before Ramadan to get into shape but then when Ramadan came I let it all go. So last night I was determined to get myself back on track. I only do HIT workouts (high intensity workout over a short period of time) so make sure it’s all compact and that results are more likely to be visible. And now that I’ve started, I’m hoping to keep it up, but also want to keep it going till the end.

People console themselves in many ways. Pregnant women tell themselves they are allowed to eat more since they’re ‘eating for two’ or that if you’re training at athlete level you’re allowed a burger every day if you liked. But we all know the truth of the matter. Deep down we know there’s no escaping the reality of the real reason we all put on weight in Ramadan. Even though we’re abstaining from food the whole day, meaning we should be losing weight since our body feeds off of the fuel we give it or from the body fat we already have, it doesn’t mean we can reverse the effects of the detox our body has gone through by having samosa and biryani.

Fried food makes us thirsty and tired more quickly. Instead of having a protein and fibre rich meal at suhoor, we’re chugging down water because we’re thirsty from the dozen kababs or daal puris at iftar. Think about it; this month is a spiritual journey that only comes once a year, but why do you think this journey can only be taken by denying yourself your basic needs? Because this month we’re also meant t be learning the real value of food and should be re-learning how to eat.

A person goes on a detox for 2 core reasons: to cleanse the body of its storage of impurities and to kick start the rest of their journey into a healthier ‘me’. Ramadan is exactly that. Both on the spiritual and human level.

I’ve been watching people on YouTube share their fitness routines in Ramadan and it reminded me that there are those out there that actually get Ramadan. Discipline is what will lead to restraint, which will lead to us developing our patience and humility. Once again, I’ve seen posts on facebook of people and their insane iftar meals and prep that it’s exhausted me by watching them. Maybe a few times in the month you can make the pakora, samosa, chicken tandoori, naan and kababs etc etc for iftar, but when I see it for nearly every day…I worry about their arteries O_O

Today, I had one of my sister’s around again for iftar and I was worried we would have rubbish food on the menu. My silent prayers were answered when I saw it would all be grilled food with lots of salad.

RD DAY 7 iftar

The pizza you see was for the kids 🙂

I’ve seen the difference in my worship and my attitude when I eat junk food and I’m not happy.  It’s a real battle at times to resist ‘just one’ and so iftar time scares me a little. I want to fit into my Eid suit, not rip through it!!!

Today I have made up a plan for the month:

Iftar 

Workout

Power snack

Blog

Suhoor

Today I worked out as planned and then ate my easy to make power snack:

RD DAY 7 power snack

Chopped banana, pure peanut butter and organic unsweetened desiccated coconut

I know the fat on my body hasn’t gone but I feel better after each workout, knowing that I’m a little closer to my goal. I want to come out of this month benefiting as I should have.

#noregrets

